Please read through all the 3 of the sections below, as this outlines how the competition will be structured. If you haven't already, be sure to register in the category that best suits you!

Types & Categories

We’re following NACBMA standards of four overall facial hair types: Moustaches, Partial Beards, Full Beards, and Artistic. These are divided into specialized categories, such as Moustache Natural or Moustache English, which are then defined by the use of product and further defined by any category-specific shaping or styling.

All beard lengths must be measured directly down from the base of the bottom lip.

These Types are further divided into Categories, such as Moustache Natural, Moustache Styled, etc. Each participant will have presented themselves before a pre-jury on-site at registration to ensure they are in the correct category.

Terminology: The 4 Main Facial Hair Types

  • ARTISTIC - Artificial and imaginative creations meant to resemble facial hair of any category, either literally or abstractly.. There are 2 categories:
    • Realistic
    • Creative
  • MOUSTACHE – A moustache is composed of facial hair above the upper lip. At international contests, it is agreed that moustache hairs can start growing from up to a maximum of 5/8" (1.5 cm) beyond the end of the upper lip. There are 2 categories:
    • Natural
    • Freestyle
  • PARTIAL BEARD – A partial beard is any facial hair that is neither a full beard nor a moustache. Natural or shaven gaps define the different styles and classes in this competition. There are 4 categories:
    • Natural
    • Natural - Sideburns / Chops
    • Natural - Alaskan Whaler
    • Freestyle

  • FULL BEARD - A full beard consists of hair on the upper and lower lip, the chin, the cheeks, and the sideburns, without any natural or shaven gap. Lengths are measured from the bottom of the lower lip. There are 6 categories:
    • Natural - Under 2"
    • Natural - 2"-6"
    • Natural - 6"-12"
    • Natural - Over 12"
    • Natural - With Styled Moustache
    • Freestyle

Acceptable Styling Methods & Aids

Natural Categories

Acceptable styling methods to be used with Natural categories include brushing, combing, shampooing, and conditioning, including the use of beard oils and balms. Any styling method should be used to only accentuate, and must not be used in excess, resulting in an unnatural look. These categories show off the grooming of facial hair naturally in its most basic form.

Styled Categories

Legal styling aids in all Styled categories shall include only wax, hair spray, and other hair products. The use of hair extensions, fake and detached hair, or any form of hair pins or supporting elements is prohibited. Dreadlocked facial hair, due to the constricted state and product-dependent style, should be placed in the relevant Type and Styled (most commonly Freestyle) category.

Part of the challenge of these classes is the ability to implement a design yourself, working in 3-dimensions using a 2-dimensional mirror. Self-styling is enthusiastically encouraged. As such, it is at each judge’s discretion to adjust a contestant’s score based on whether the competitor styled his beard himself, or it was styled instead by someone else.

Artistic Categories

If there’s some uncertainty about which category a fake beard should go into, take into account the materials used and theme or presentation:

  • Are the materials visually similar to natural hair? Regardless of the category style recreated, is it styled or presented in a way that if it was made of actual hair it wouldn’t look out of place on a man’s face? → Realistic
  • Are there clearly repurposed materials used to represent facial hair? Are there unusual elements or objects involved not commonly found in facial hair? → Creative

Awarding Points
  1. The contestants in each class will parade individually in front of the judges on stage, then be presented in a group. Each entrant will have their registration number prominently displayed.
  2. Each judge will then give a score between 10 and 5 points to each contestant, with the highest points awarded to the competitors they think best fit the criteria. Half points are possible. No-shows will automatically receive a score of 0.
  3. The points 10, 9.5 and 9 can only be given once by each judge in each category. Each judge can then award any of the other points as often as they like.
  4. Ties - The positions 1st, 2nd and 3rd must be decided clearly. In the event of equal scores (a tie) for 1st, 2nd or 3rd place, a second vote will be conducted.
    • In the event of two competitors tieing again, the judges will be asked to award either 10 or 8 points to each contestant. The judges will not know whether the re-scoring is for 1st & 2nd place, or 2nd & 3rd place.
    • In the event of three competitor tie, the judges will be asked to award 10, 8, or 5 points to each contestant. (Highest points, again, being the most preferred).